kind of blue

“I love that color! That color, exactly that blue.” We’re standing in the mall parking lot, a pearly incandescent moon about two-thirds full overhead. My daughter, who is delightfully delighted with the fuchsia pants I’ve just bought her, takes my arm and points – our two hands together – toward a portion of the sky a little above the moon. The lower sky is a brilliant sapphire and is the color I thought she was referring to. But she’s looking above that, at a murkier, slightly grayer blue. “It’s so beautiful,” she says in a dreamy voice.

Here under the parking lot lights, I breathe in her pleasure.

It’s been a wild ride of a week, filled with trauma and drama. Her brother is in a play and this seems to bring out both. There’s been plenty of Life happening, too. Changing plans that are out of anyone’s control. Upsetting things at school – again, outside of anyone’s control. We’ve all been rolling along, more or less happy with each other and supporting one another, but too often it feel like we’re on a life boat about to go over the Big Falls.

So I’ll take this moment, this pure delight at a hue, at the night’s sky, at the bigness of life that extends beyond – so very far beyond – our immediate selves. I’ll take this blue.

5 thoughts on “kind of blue

    • Thanks, Rebecca. Yeah, we’re ok. There are just days when I feel like we’re holding on by a thread. I’m so thankful to have creative kids who are open to the world, but sometimes it just feels too much. I”m trying to reel things in a bit while honoring current commitments. I hope you’re well, too. Love – me

  1. Especially on winter evenings, I would often call to which ever child was still in the house, “Come look– The sky is a beautiful color!” and we would stand and enjoy looking out the window together, together and warm. A similar moment of peace, connection and appreciation at a similar moment & time in our lives. Things are more settled now. Recently I was talking by phone to my son who is in Korea and told him the sky was a beautiful color, Even though it was a different color where he was, he laughed, and said, “yes, yes it is.” Still connected by sky and color.

Leave a Reply

