Uncategorized

Beauty becomes enough

At some point in life the world’s beauty becomes enough. You don’t need to photograph, paint or even remember it. It is enough. No record of it needs to be kept and you don’t need someone to share it with or tell it to. When that happens — that letting go — you let go because you can.

Toni Morrison, Tar Baby

Alley collage

Above: From an alley in town, taken on a morning bike ride to the gray cubicle.

I am getting over my self-imposed grayness. A wise friend suggested upon reading my last post that maybe my purpose in life is not to write but rather to have my heart open to the world. This small adjustment, made by a yoga teacher – how wonderfully apropos! – has been ever so helpful. So I’ve been looking for beauty in unexpected places – like alleyways and countertops. It’s even helping me to see beauty in my son’s recent moodiness. (Legos – URGH! You are evil! Ok, so I’m failing in seeing beauty in Legos.) There is such abundant LIFE in Tobey – all wrapped in a stubborn exterior. 

Despite Morrison’s admonition against recording, I can’t help myself. Here are some little pieces of beauty from my corner of the world to yours.

 

Bella creating magazine envelopes.
Bella creating magazine envelopes.

 

Below:  Tobey at his best and recovering from his worst.

Tobey collage

Morning!
Morning!
2 thoughts on “Beauty becomes enough”

  1. I found you via Aimee at artsyville. And I’m so glad. A lot of what you say, as an artist and writer and mother, resonates with me. And maybe our sons are separated at birth? An abundance of life trapped inside a stubborn exterior is so right on!

    1. Susie, yeah! Thank you for stopping by. I’m not super regular with this blog, but I do love it and look forward to – fingers crossed – doing an entire book on motherhood and creativity.

      I have a feeling our boys have many, many soul brothers out there. Oh my, the energy of a six-year old boy is both a gift and a challenge.

      Take care!
      Jennifer

Leave a Reply

