Uncategorized

slow

“Smile, breathe and go slowly.” 
― Thich Nhat Hanh

This year I want to be slow.

Slow as molasses.
I want to learn patience that was never there,
marvel at dust motes
hear the cat snore and the clock tick.

I want to be slow as Tich Nhat Hanh.
He leads meditation centers, writes a book – sometimes two, sometimes three – a year
and calligraphs hundreds of scrolls,
all while walking like a tortoise, an elephant, an ancient dog.
No where to go, nothing to do.

This year I will be slow
so that I can remember that the so much of what we think we want is actually the source of our unhappiness (as per the rabbi in this podcast),
so that I can read friend’s entire blog posts and visit every link instead of scanning.

Slow food

Slow money

Slow sex

Slow cleaning

Slow driving

Slow parenting.

I asked the Universe for slow and got a chest cold.
I asked the Universe for slow and got a shoulder pain and a crick in my neck.
I asked the Universe for slow and got a 60-degree day in January just meant for an afternoon stroll.

Slowing to mindfully appreciate my world.
Slowing to hear my inner voice and those of the people closest to me.
Slowing to practice patience.
Slowing into grace.

 

 

 

1 thought on “slow”

Leave a Reply

