she’ll leave

There will be days when she leaves.

There will be times when I am ready for her to go

and times when it hurts to even think about it.

Her suitcase will be packed, tickets bought.

Camp, college, travel.

May she be so lucky. May I be so lucky.

May she travel safely, and I find my footing

– at peace in the knowledge that she’s here

inside me. In my heart. Creator of mama me.

Last week she went to camp – confident, easy, ready.

I picked her up and got a nice half hug – just enough to say hi.

“I asked a boy to the dance,” she tells me. “We slow danced.”

I see her smile confident, easy, ready.

Her wings are unfurling right before my eyes.

2 thoughts on “she’ll leave

Leave a Reply

