creativity, Right Livlihood

wander

41gMaRd4tqL._SX338_BO1,204,203,200_I am trying to listen to and SEE connections. They’re everywhere, I’m just too drowsy sometimes to notice them.

Making sense of connections doesn’t matter nearly as much as simply becoming aware of them. And so here is one that just happened – occurred in frickin’ neon, actually!

About 20 minutes ago, I was trying to recall the name of a book I’d seen in Chicago a few weeks ago – a book that made me think of various ideas I’ve had for books and that I wanted to check out for further inspiration.  I couldn’t quite remember the title, something with wander – so I googled about and came up empty. A subdivision in Vermont? No. A walking stick company? No.

My attention went back to my work. I’m in the midst of going through a friend’s syllabus, printing it out in order to think about a possible workshop we might lead together. There are links throughout and I opened one article, “But Does It Make You Happy?” that caught my eye.  I skimmed it and saw an allusion to living smaller – less stuff, less space, less $$ – and followed another link to a woman who blogs about her downsized life at rowdykittens.

The very first post on this blog alluded to the book I’d been trying to find just a bit earlier: The Wander Society. It’s a celebration of curiosity and non-linearity.

LOVE IT! LOVE THE WHOLE DAMNED WALKABOUT THAT JUST LED ME BACK TO MY YEARNING!!!!

Leave a Reply

