Uncategorized

knowing on a november night

I know that the friends and the friends of friends who have died recently are gone.
I know, too, that they are nearby – watching, protecting.
I know that my son’s friend who walked out our door today, a boy I’ve known since he was a toddler, is now en route to go live in Portland with his family and will not return. Boxes have been packed.
I know that should he come back, the person who visits will be a young man, reading different books, playing different games.

I know there are words in me – millions – that will never be put down.
So often, they feel frittered, lost, boats that I’ve never rowed to shore.
I know, too, that they are there, clusters of stars inside me, waiting to be released.
Sometimes I know – sometimes I’m just so certain – that I’ll get cancer, that I’ll be ill and grow wane.
Just as I knew – was so very certain – some nights that Ted Bundy or Charles Manson was standing in my hallway.
But they never came.

I know that my old labrador is now ashes in a box in the walnut dresser that was my grandma’s and her mother’s before,
And that each night my cat walks the neighborhood balancing his mortality on his paws.
I know that each day my house sinks deeper into its foundation
While expanding with the possibilities of the people who live beneath its roof.
I know that my children breathe out into their bedrooms while they sleep,
Shedding their 9- and 11-year old selves with each exhalation, becoming people I’ve yet to meet.
And I know that I will always know them, would know them after centuries apart,
That they came from deep inside me – star clusters – and will live far beyond anything I can imagine.

4 thoughts on “knowing on a november night”

  1. Stunning beauty- tears, fear, joy and a very deep sigh… thank you as always for finding the words you do…

  2. Oh Jennifer, thank you. “And that each night my cat walks the neighborhood balancing his mortality on his paws.” Just beautiful.

Leave a comment